UKEdMag: Top 100 UK Destinations for School Trips

It’s great to get out of the classroom and explore the world beyond, so we asked the UKEdChat communities to nominate their favourite destinations for a school trip (based in the UK). We were able to come up with a list of 100 top destinations, including a Top 5 (scroll down for link) of the most nominated…

From the May 2014 edition of UKEdMagazine. Click here to read the article in full.

(In alphabetical order)

  1. Anglesey Sea Zoo, Anglesey https://www.angleseyseazoo.co.uk
  2. BBC Tour, Salford https://bbc.co.uk/showsandtours/tours/salford.shtml
  3. Beamish Museum, County Durham https://www.beamish.org.uk
  4. Big Pit National Coal Museum, Torfaen https://www.museumwales.ac.uk/bigpit
  5. Blackpool Zoo, Blackpool https://www.blackpoolzoo.org.uk/
  6. Blencathra Field Centre, Cumbria https://field-studies-council.org/centres/blencathra.aspx
  7. British Museum, London https://www.britishmuseum.org/
  8. Cadbury World, Birmingham https://www.cadburyworld.co.uk/
  9. Caerphilly Castle, South Wales https://cadw.wales.gov.uk/daysout/caerphilly-castle
  10. Cambridge Museum of Technology, Cambridge https://www.museumoftechnology.com/
  11. Canterbury Cathedral, Kent  https://www.canterbury-cathedral.org
  12. Carreg Adventure, Swansea https://www.carregadventure.co.uk
  13. Carrickfergus Castle, Antrim https://discovernorthernireland.com/Carrickfergus-Castle-Carrickfergus-P2814
  14. Cheddar Gorge, Somerset https://www.cheddargorge.co.uk/
  15. Chester Cathedral, Cheshire https://www.chestercathedral.com/
  16. Chester Zoo, Chester https://www.chesterzoo.org/
  17. Chiltern Open Air Museum, Buckinghamshire  https://www.coam.org.uk
  18. Colchester Castle, Essex https://www.cimuseums.org.uk/article/10837/Colchester-Castle-Museum
  19. Colchester Zoo, Essex  https://www.colchester-zoo.com/
  20. Congleton Museum – WW2 Evacuee Experience, Congleton, Stoke-On-Trent https://www.congletonmuseum.co.uk/education/
  21. Dan yr Ogof National Showcaves of Wales, Powys https://www.showcaves.co.uk/
  22. Edinburgh Castle, Edinburgh https://www.edinburghcastle.gov.uk/
  23. Edinburgh Zoo, Edinburgh https://www.edinburghzoo.org.uk
  24. Ely Cathedral, Cambridgeshire https://www.elycathedral.org/
  25. Fairplay House, Essex https://www.fairplayhouse.org
  26. Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge https://www.fitzmuseum.cam.ac.uk/
  27. Giant’s Causeway, Antrim  https://nationaltrust.org.uk/giants-causeway/
  28. Glasgow Science Centre, Glasgow https://www.glasgowsciencecentre.org/
  29. Hampton Court Palace, Surrey  https://www.hrp.org.uk/HamptonCourtPalace/
  30. HMS Belfast, London https://www.iwm.org.uk/visits/hms-belfast
  31. HMS Victory, Hampshire https://www.hms-victory.com
  32. Imperial War Museum, London https://www.iwm.org.uk/
  33. TripsSponsor1Imperial War Museum – Duxford, Cambridgeshire https://www.iwm.org.uk/visits/iwm-duxford
  34. Jodrell Bank Discovery Centre, Cheshire https://www.jodrellbank.net/
  35. JORVIK Viking Centre, York https://jorvik-viking-centre.co.uk/
  36. Kew Gardens, London https://www.kew.org/
  37. King Arthurs Labyrinth, Powys https://www.kingarthurslabyrinth.co.uk
  38. Kingswood Outdoor Edu & Adventure Centres, Kent https://kingswood.co.uk/centres/grosvenor-hall
  39. Knowsley Safari Park, Merseyside https://knowsleysafariexperience.co.uk
  40. Leeds Castle, Kent  https://www.leeds-castle.com/home
  41. Legoland Windsor, Berkshire  https://www.legoland.co.uk/
  42. London Science Museum, London https://sciencemuseum.org.uk/
  43. London Zoo, London https://www.zsl.org/zsl-london-zoo
  44. Longleat Safari & Adventure Park, Wiltshire https://longleat.co.uk
  45. Lowther Castle, Cumbria https://www.lowthercastle.org/
  46. Manchester Airport Runway Visitor Park https://manchesterairport.co.uk/manweb.nsf/Content/runwayvisitorpark
  47. Marsh Farm – Animal Adventure Park, Essex https://www.marshfarm.co.uk/
  48. Museum of Childhood, London  https://www.museumofchildhood.org.uk/
  49. National Museam of Scotland, Edinburgh https://www.nms.ac.uk/our_museums/national_museum.aspx
  50. National Museum Cardiff, South Wales https://www.museumwales.ac.uk/cardiff/
  51. National Portrait Gallery, London https://www.npg.org.uk/
  52. National Space Centre, Leicester https://www.spacecentre.co.uk
  53. Natural History Museum, London https://www.nhm.ac.uk
  54. Norwich Castle, Norfolk https://museums.norfolk.gov.uk/Visit_Us/Norwich_Castle/index.htm
  55. Nottingham Castle, Nottingham https://www.nottinghamcity.gov.uk/Castle
  56. Orielton Field Centre, Pembroke https://field-studies-council.org/centres/orielton.aspx
  57. Palace of Westminster, London  https://www.parliament.uk/visiting/
  58. Paultons Park, Hampshire https://paultonspark.co.uk/education
  59. Roald Dahl Story Centre, Buckinghamshire https://www.roalddahl.com/museum
  60. Rockley Watersports, Dorset https://www.rockleywatersports.com/
  61. Roman Baths, Somerset https://www.romanbaths.co.uk/
  62. Roman Legion Museum, Caerleon https://www.museumwales.ac.uk/roman/
  63. Royal Air Force Museum London, London https://www.rafmuseum.org.uk/london/
  64. Royal Observatory, Greenwich, London https://www.rmg.co.uk/royal-observatory
  65. Sea Life Adventure Aquarium, Essex https://www.sealifeadventure.co.uk/main.php
  66. TripsSponsor2Sea Life London Aquarium, London https://www.visitsealife.com/london/
  67. Sedgwick Museum of Earth Sciences, Cambridge https://www.sedgwickmuseum.org/
  68. Shakespeare’s Globe, London  https://www.shakespearesglobe.com/
  69. Slapton Ley Field Centre, Devon https://www.field-studies-council.org/centres/slapton/slaptonley.aspx
  70. South Lakes Safari Zoo, Cumbria https://southlakessafarizoo.com/
  71. South London Botanical Institute, London https://www.slbi.org.uk/
  72. South Penquite Farm, Cornwall https://www.southpenquite.co.uk/
  73. St Fagans National History Museum, Cardiff https://www.museumwales.ac.uk/stfagans/
  74. Stirling Castle, Stirling https://www.stirlingcastle.gov.uk/
  75. Stonehenge, Wiltshire https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/daysout/properties/stonehenge/
  76. Sutton Hoo, Suffolk https://nationaltrust.org.uk/sutton-hoo
  77. Tate Britain, London https://www.tate.org.uk/visit/tate-britain
  78. Techniquest, Cardiff Bay https://www.techniquest.org
  79. The Cutty Sark, London  https://www.rmg.co.uk/cuttysark
  80. The Eden Project, Cornwall https://www.edenproject.com
  81. The Mary Rose, Hampshire https://www.maryrose.org/
  82. The National Gallery, London  https://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/
  83. The Navan Centre, Co Armagh https://www.armagh.co.uk/navan-centre-fort/
  84. The Tower of London, London  https://www.hrp.org.uk/TowerOfLondon/
  85. The Wellcome Collection, London https://www.wellcomecollection.org/
  86. Tilbury Fort, Essex https://english-heritage.org.uk/daysout/properties/tilbury-fort/
  87. Titanic Belfast, Belfast https://www.titanicbelfast.com/
  88. Tring Natural History Museum, Hertfordshire https://nhm.ac.uk/tring
  89. Ufton Court Educational Trust, Berks https://uftoncourt.co.uk
  90. Victoria and Albert Museum, London https://www.vam.ac.uk/
  91. Warner Brothers Harry Potter Studios Tour, Herts https://www.wbstudiotour.co.uk/
  92. Weald & Downland Open Air Museum, Chichester https://www.wealddown.co.uk
  93. Welsh Wildlife Centre, Pembrokeshire https://www.welshwildlife.org/
  94. Westminster Abbey, London https://www.westminster-abbey.org/
  95. Whipsnade Zoo, Bedfordshire https://www.zsl.org/zsl-whipsnade-zoo
  96. Whitemoor Lakes, Staffordshire https://www.acuk.net/whitemoor-lakes
  97. Whitlingham Outdoor Education Centre, Norwich https://www.whitlinghamoec.co.uk
  98. Warwick Castle, Warwick https://www.warwick-castle.com/
  99. Windsor Castle, Berkshire https://royalcollection.org.uk/visit/windsorcastle
  100. Woburn Safari Park, Bedfordshire https://www.woburnsafari.co.uk/

Click here to view the Top 5 UK School Trip Destinations in May 2014 edition of UKEdMagazine

 

You need to or Register to bookmark/favorite this content.

About UKEdChat Editorial 3168 Articles
The Editorial Account of UKEdChat, managed by editor-in-chief Colin Hill, with support from Martin Burrett from the UKEd Magazine. Pedagogy, Resources, Community.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*